top of page

Onwards (Goal Post)

For this goal post, I decided to look at my previous one and see if and how I have improved in my thinking and analysis. I feel as though -for me at least- there used to be a sense of apprehension and even resentment towards goal posts. It felt too structured and acted as a chore rather than something that builds me up. I think I may have figured out the problem.

It was my own thinking that made me reflect poorly on the assignment. I had seen and "attacked" the goal posts individually, isolated from the rest of my work. Obviously, that hampered my writing and even my progress. Recently, I have come to the realization that goal posts cannot be analyzed separately. It cannot simply be a list of things I plan to do. Furthermore, it must be an analysis of if I have accomplished the tasks I desired to in my previous goal post and how that connects to this one. For me, that is what clarifies this assignment into something beyond just another chore I have to complete. That's what brings purpose to goal posts.

In my last goal post, I had written about my SDA and how I wanted to paint something, anything. That's not what happened. After several conversations with my coordinator, I changed my mind. Instead, my SDA ended up being a time lapse of my drawings to explain the parts of the brain associated in dreaming. Initially, I had wanted to inject creativity through my painting, but had realized there are other options left to explore.

I dread the sound of my voice on anything I create- I absolutely abhor it. It's unreasonable but it's something that remains to be uncomfortable for me. As such, it was very difficult to jump over the fear of that and add a voice- my voice- to my work. It seems like a very trivial thing but I think it was necessary and even lacking in my previous Self Designed Assignments. Even though I hated every minute of recording my own voice, I know that often, I'm going to have to explain my research to others and adding my voice personalizes that experience.

I love painting and art, but I must admit that I'm happy and even proud that I did something different. It helped me venture out of my safe place and furthermore, helped me grow. I would never have written something like this before my most recent SDA, but I think I want to create a series of podcasts/ interviews for my next SDA. My time lapse video has definitely brought that sense of comfort I needed to spark this SDA. I've recently spoken with some people regarding their experiences with dream recall and I think it would be extremely informative to just discuss some of the nuances. Similarly, I think I could improve in my narrative skills and what better way than to just jump right in?

This is going to sound strange but I feel more comfortable with my research. It has been a little more than a month since my last goal post, but I do think a lot has changed for the better. I don't feel the need to force creativity into my paper, nor do I feel the mounting pressures of figuring everything out at the same time. Approaching the various facets of this research in a series of planned steps has made me more relaxed and in turn, eager to learn and question.

In my previous post, I had written that I felt the loss of something. I tried very hard to explain what that might have been but it remained inaccessible for me, then. As I reflect on my research now as opposed to a month ago, I think I have found it. I think I have found it in the form of curiosity and eagerness to learn more and more. Don't misconstrue. I was tired and sleep-deprived a month ago and I am still very much the same. But I'm also ready and optimistic for what is to come.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page